top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDoriene van Luttervelt

My deepest fear...

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. Your playing small does not serve the world.
There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won't feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine as children do. It's not just in some of us; it is in everyone. And as we let our own lights shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.
- Marianne Williamson -

I have this poem in a frame for many, many years. Somehow it has always appealed to me. I stumbled across it through the story of my hero; Nelson Mandela, who used part of this poem in his inauguration speech. The words tell me so much...

Lately I am beginning to really understand them. To feel and experience what they really mean. They have sunk in. Giving back what my deepest fear is. And why I was unable to get over that last hurdle in my process of personal and spiritual growth. I needed to really be aware of what is exactly holding me back. Feel why I am so anxious for the next step. The belief that I was not worthy enough, that I don' t earn to receive happyness and love in my life. I carried this old belief with me for so long.


And now I finally realize that my fear was of accepting the fact that it is not true.


That I am worthy...

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page